About The Bridge Award

AITAF is thrilled to announce that Pulitzer Prize winning playwright, Tony Kushner will be the Final Selecting Judge for the 2019 Bridge Award!

Submissions opened on December 1, 2018 and closed on February 1, 2019.
The 2019 Bridge Award submission period is closed. The winner will be announced on May 1, 2019. 
Submissions for the 2020 Bridge Award will be open from December 1, 2019 until February 1, 2020. 

The Bridge Award was established in honor of our tenth anniversary with the purpose of recognizing an emerging playwright of exceptional talent within the United States military. The award consists of a $10,000 prize, and an AITAF produced reading of the winning work.

In addition to bringing world-class theater to the military, AITAF is committed to supporting and sharing the talents of those who serve. This Award will offer a deserving current military service member or veteran artist important connections with the theater community and access to developmental resources, helping to facilitate a deeper understanding and more active dialogue between military and civilian communities.

The Final Selecting Judge will be Tony Kushner

Tony Kushner

Tony Kushner's plays include A Bright Room Called DayAngels in America, Parts Oneand TwoSlavs!Homebody/Kabul; the musical Caroline, or Change and the opera A Blizzard on Marblehead Neck, both with composer Jeanine Tesori; and The Intelligent Homosexual's Guide To Capitalism And Socialism With A Key To The  Scriptures. He has adapted and translated Pierre Corneille's The Illusion, S.Y. Ansky's The Dybbuk, Bertolt Brecht's The Good Person of Szechwan and Mother Courage and Her Children; and the English-language libretto for the opera Brundibár by Hans Krasa.  He wrote the screenplays for Mike Nichols' film of Angels In America, and for Steven Spielberg's Munich and Lincoln. His books include Brundibar, with illustrations by Maurice Sendak; The Art of Maurice Sendak, 1980 to the Present; and Wrestling With Zion: Progressive Jewish-American Responses to the Palestinian/Israeli Conflict, co-edited with Alisa Solomon. Kushner is the recipient of a Pulitzer Prize, two Tony Awards, three Obie Awards, two Evening Standard Awards, an Olivier Award, an Emmy Award, two Oscar nominations, and the Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, among other honors. In 2012, he was awarded a National Medal of Arts by President Barack Obama. He lives in Manhattan with his husband, Mark Harris.

The Bridge Award Team


Tony Kushner

Submissions Coordinator/Reader Committee Chair
Anna O’Donoghue

Reading Committee
Will Arbery
Heidi Armbruster
J. Stephen Brantley
Jack Canfora
Nat Cassidy
Alice Eve Cohen
Nick Gandiello
Hunter Kaczorowski
Portia Krieger
Eric Lane
Mona Mansour
Caroline McGraw
Winter Miller
Anna Moench
Tira Palmquist
Jihae Park
Barbara Samuels
Emily Schwend
Crystal Skillman
Tom Story
Daniel Talbott
Leah Nanako Winkler
Pironne Yousefzadeh

AITAF encourages first time playwrights to submit!

View Playwriting Resources

The Awarded Playwright will Receive:

  • $10,000 prize.

  • An AITAF produced reading of the winning play in the fall of 2019, in NYC or on base (if the winning playwright is in active duty) with a professional director and cast.

  • A reception and feedback session following the reading.


  • Author must currently serve or have served in the United States military. All selected finalists will be required to provide proof of service.

  • All submissions must be full-length, completed plays.

  • Musicals, screenplays, or one-act plays are ineligible.

  • All submissions must be unpublished.

  • The submitted play may not have received a professional, reviewed production.

  • The submitted play may address any subject matter or theme; military settings or content are not given any extra consideration.

  • Each author may submit one play per year; multiple submissions are not allowed.

  • Once a play has been submitted, no further revisions or new drafts may be entered.

  • Plays with a producer, producing organization or theater attached are not eligible.

Submission Guidelines

  • Submissions will be accepted December 1st 2018 through February 1st 2019.
  • Please submit your play in PDF form with the title: Title of Play.pdf
  • Please include a brief accompanying statement, including a description of your service (dates, military branch, foreign countries served in, if applicable.) This description may be 250 words or fewer.
  • Only finalists will be notified of their status.
  • When the winning playwright is named, finalists will also be announced.